jump to navigation

Fun personal questions February 21, 2017

Posted by Ubi Dubium in Questions, Responses.
Tags: , ,
trackback

The Shameful Sheep posted a set of questions that are pretty much just light and fun personal stuff. Since I can use some light and fun right now, I thought I’d do them.  If you like substance in your blog reading, you might want to skip this one.

1. Who are you named after? 

No idea.  I think my parents just liked the name.  My Mom can jump on the comments and correct that if there was somebody in particular.

2. Do you like your handwriting?

Only when I’m doing careful calligraphy.  Otherwise it’s getting worse and worse as the years pass.

3. What is your favorite lunch meat?

Smoked turkey.  Genoa salami is really good too, but not together with the turkey.  Any lunch meat plus bacon is usually an improvement over the lunch meat alone.

4. Longest relationship? 

Married 31 years now, so I think that wins.

5. Do you still have your tonsils?

No, and that’s been annoying lately.  When I get a cold, and it progresses into the coughing stage at the end, the scars from the tonsillectomy itch and trigger uncontrollable coughing fits even when I have no other need to cough.  It will wake me up at night until I spray enough Chloraseptic on it to numb it out.   I had a coughing fit happen in the middle of a recording session once.  Ack!

6. Would you bungee jump? 

Nope.  Why would I need to seek out extra danger and excitement when I drive on the highway every day?

7. Do you untie your shoes when you take them off?

I’ve been wearing slip-ons lately, so not relevant.

8. Favorite ice cream?

Vanilla with chocolate/peanut butter/caramel/toffee stuff in it.  Nothing with walnuts, pecans, or coffee please.

9. What is the first thing you notice about people?

Hadn’t really thought about it.  I’m not very good with faces, so I guess I notice hair because it’s more distinctive.  I also notice if they are wearing something that tells me I may not want to engage in much conversation with them, like a big religious symbol, lots of piercings, a power balance bracelet, or a “Make America Great Again” hat.  Oh, and if they are wearing too much perfume, that’s the first thing I notice, and also the last thing, and everything in between.  If your smell hangs around after you leave, you’re overdoing it.

10. Football or baseball? 

Sports?  I can put up with baseball, I guess.  If I can bring something to read.

11. What color pants are you wearing? 

Black.  I have at least five pairs of black pants.  Bright colors are for shirts.

12. Last thing you ate?

SweetTarts jellybeans.  Really.  Jellybeans are one of my guilty pleasures, and while Jelly Bellies and Starburst jelly beans are good, by far the best are the ones from SweetTarts.  And you can only get them around Easter.

sweetarts-jelly-beans

13. If you were a crayon what color would you be?

Probably the broken one at the bottom of the box, of some color you can’t really identify.

14. Favorite smell?

Cardamom.  Cloves.  Plumeria flowers. Lemon Verbena.  I don’t think all of those at once would work, though.

15. Who was the last person you spoke to on the phone?

My boss.  Boring.

16. Hair color? 

Dishwater blond.

17. Eye color?

Blue!  Really blue, which kind of makes up for my boring haircolor.

18. Favorite foods to eat?

I get on kicks where I binge on something a lot for awhile.  When I was pregnant it was tacos.  Sometimes it’s caramel corn.  Right now it’s marshmallow treats, but I make them with way more cereal than the recipe calls for, so they don’t come out sticky.

19. Scary movies or happy endings? 

Either one, as long as the movie is good.

20. Last movie you watched? 

Big Hero 6.  And before that Finding Dory.  Both really fun.  A well-made kids movie beats a sucky grown-up one any day.

21. Favorite holiday? 

Talk Like a Pirate Day (September 19).  And Halloween, because there’s not a lot of overt religiosity mixed up in the celebration, and I don’t have to cook a big meal either.

22. Beer or wine? 

Cider!  But not too much, please.

23. Night owl or early bird? 

I prefer to be a night owl, but that was hard for the years when I had to wake the kids up for school at the crack of dawn.   They’re older now, so no more of that.  I can function in the morning if I’ve had a good amount of sleep and some caffeine.

24. Favorite day of the week? 

Saturday – I can sleep in, and stay up late and not worry about it.

25: Which three of your favorite bloggers do you want to know more about? 

They’ll talk if they want to, no need to ask anybody.

 

Comments»

1. Quixie - February 21, 2017

Ubi, it was fun learning more about you through this! I’m so going to do this on Quixie’s Mind Palace. 😀

Liked by 2 people

2. cag - February 21, 2017

Actually, you were named after me. I was named in 1942.

Liked by 2 people

Ubi Dubium - February 22, 2017

Well, chronologically after, yes that’s technically correct.

Like

Brent - February 22, 2017

Grin!

Liked by 1 person

3. makagutu - February 22, 2017

How could I skip this. My own answers
1. Time of day that I was born
2. Others do, I guess I should too.
3. Any meat as long as it is well cooked
4. 4yrs
6. Yes. Though your answer is more interesting
8. Vanilla
20. Schindler’s list
15. A contractor

Liked by 1 person

4. Blair (The Shameful Sheep) - February 22, 2017

Yay! Great answers. I’m particularly perplexed by the SweetTarts Jelly Beans, though. I’ve never tried that kind but I LOVE the Starburst ones. I’m going to have to try them out. I always notice extreme perfume/colognes as well. It makes me nauseous when it’s strong. And suspicious. What are they trying to cover up?

Liked by 1 person

5. About Me – Quixie's Mind Palace - February 22, 2017

[…] got this post idea from Ubi Dubium , she got it from Shameful Sheep. Here I answer 25 questions about […]

Like

6. Brent - February 22, 2017
7. Brent - February 22, 2017

“Any lunch meat plus bacon is usually an improvement over the lunch meat alone.” <- TRUTH

"too much perfume" My wife is really sensitive to fragrances; we use unscented everything. I used to wear English Leather cologne; my dad had a close friend from Scotland that we knew as "Uncle Bob" growing up, and he used to wear it. I should have mentioned it under my "favorite smell" answer… ahhh, good stuff. I can't wear it any more. But anyway: Yes, it's a problem, because you go nose-deaf to your own fragrance after a while. There was a woman in the last building I worked in… woof, the elevators reeked of her perfume for an hour after she used them.

"Big Hero 6" My kids (now teenagers/early 20's) still love the animated movies, and they introduced me to this one recently… it was great. Also, I cry at the beginning of Up, and the middle of Toy Story 2 (Jessie's song), every. single. time.

Liked by 1 person


Thoughts?

