jump to navigation

DIY Halloween – Spoopy update October 31, 2016

Posted by Ubi Dubium in Crafts, Events.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Remember back when I made realistic eyeballs as a project for Halloween? Tonight the end product came together, and I’m very pleased with how it came out.  And I had promised to post pictures if it was OK, so here they are.

Here’s the pumpkin as I’m finishing it up.  I put ten of the eyes in, and then I was tired of cutting eyeholes so I stopped.  I used bent pieces of wire to anchor the eyeballs in place from behind.  Instead of cutting a big hole in the top of the pumpkin, I opened it up from the bottom.  This leaves the top looking very nice, and also lets me set the pumpkin down over the light source, instead of trying to get a light to sit nicely in the bottom of the pumpkin.

eyeball-pumpkin-finished

Here’s the final result on the stoop in daylight:

eyeball-pumpkin-on-stoop

Since the top is closed, and all the openings are blocked up, a candle really wouldn’t work in this, because it couldn’t get any air. But a small LED flashlight worked just fine, stuck into a little modeling clay to stabilize it.

And here it is all lit up after dark.

eyeball-pumpkin-closeup-in-the-dark

This turned out pretty much just like I wanted it to.  I’ll keep the eyeballs to use again, and next year figure out some further elaborations for this.

Comments»

1. thatatheistblog - October 31, 2016

Never thought of cutting out the bottom of the pumpkin. Nice.

Liked by 1 person

2. Quixie - October 31, 2016

This is sooo cool, Ubi! Turn out great. 👏

Liked by 1 person

3. Nan - October 31, 2016

Very cool!

Liked by 1 person

4. Godless Cranium - November 1, 2016

That looks so cool! I love it.

Liked by 1 person

5. Crazy for D.I.Y. - November 1, 2016

Nice job! I just made a teeth smilie jack-o-lantern and this would be fun to add next year! Great tutorial! 🎃

Liked by 1 person

6. ... Zoe ~ - November 1, 2016

Cool. Good tips too! Love how the top of the pumpkin stays in tact.

Liked by 1 person

7. kelleysdiy - November 10, 2016

I love your pumpkin….awesome!

Liked by 1 person

Ubi Dubium - November 10, 2016

Thanks. It was cool outside, so this was able to stay on the stoop for about a week before it molded and we had to throw it out. I’ve kept the eyes for next year!

Liked by 1 person

kelleysdiy - November 10, 2016

It’s so cool…did you think about doing it to a fake pumpkin?

Liked by 1 person

Ubi Dubium - November 10, 2016

Never thought about a fake pumpkin – I’ve never used one for Halloween. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one that was realistic enough to suit me.

Liked by 1 person

kelleysdiy - November 10, 2016

Ahh…but that’s where your creativity comes in to play…did you check out my pumpkin crafts? Most of them are dollar store pumpkins. Take a look. This way you don’t have to remove/replace the eyes every year. Instead you can create a different one each year. Theme it…one year Star Wars next year Princesses..

Like

Ubi Dubium - November 10, 2016

I’ll have to keep an eye out at the dollar store. So far all the ones I’ve seen at dollar stores are thin plastic.

Liked by 1 person

kelleysdiy - November 10, 2016

But look at what you can do with them!!! You can’t even tell when your finished.

Like


Thoughts?

