jump to navigation

Women in Secularism 4 – summaries September 26, 2016

Posted by Ubi Dubium in Events.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

WiS4

I’ve just spent a great weekend at Women in Secularism 4, sponsored by CFI.  I took many notes, but I’m not going to try to outline all the points of all the talks there, because it’s already been done!

Paul Fidalgo of The Morning Heresy, liveblogged each speech and panel discussion.  So for good summaries please go here:

CFI Live Women in Secularism

In the coming days I’ll probably put together my thoughts on a few of the themes that were discussed.

 

Comments»

1. mechanicdude - September 26, 2016

Ubi- I also like this dear lady very much. I especially liked her attitude toward “religious rulers” around the globe and relate to her when I say that it was religion and our bible that helped me become the non-believer I am today. Religious terrorism is a world wide epidemic and can be disguised as just about anything including patriotism or economic development. Our “rulers” are even clever enough to sell slavery as freedom, economic opportunity as economic equality and religion as our salvation. It is a tragedy. -MD

Like

Ubi Dubium - September 26, 2016

Thanks. Which specific lady are you speaking of? There were a dozen or two who spoke at the conference, and Paul summarized all the talks, if you scroll down at the link.

Like

mechanicdude - September 26, 2016

It was the summary of Bonya Ahmed that I read. My ancient notebook makes it difficult to see whole blogs and web sights, especially if they are ultra modern, without crashing. It crashes regularly and is just a matter of time before it quits altogether. I have got an idea of what is your purpose though and enjoy reading you. Good luck -MD

Liked by 1 person

2. Kold_Kadavr_flatliner - September 27, 2016

trustNjesus, dear.
Meet me Upstairs.
Let’s getta Big-Ol beer…

Only 2 realms after our lifelong demise, girly-whirly, and 1 of em aint too cool.

Google+: kold_kadavr _flatliner

Like

Ubi Dubium - September 29, 2016

I put this comment in moderation for a couple of days while I considered what to do with it.

Mr. Flatliner,
I have no reason to trust your invisible friend. I don’t like beer. There’s no “realms” after our demise, just a world that will continue on without us in it. It’s not a good approach to call someone you don’t really know “Girly-whirly,” a lot of women would find that insulting. I know I do.

Please keep your comments relevant to the discussion at hand. I’ll delete any future trolling.

Like

3. mechanicdude - September 29, 2016

Ubi- Very good job handling this. I have often wondered why the big religions and the big religious are so oppressive of women. I like to think it is because maybe they see “free women” as their biggest threat? BTW would anybody really like to spend eternity with an idiot like this? I know I wouldnt. -MD

Liked by 1 person


Thoughts?

