jump to navigation

The most famous person… December 30, 2015

Posted by Ubi Dubium in Games, Humor.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I was reading Danielwalldammit’s blog today, a tribute to Lemmy Kilmister, and this sentence jumped at me:

Lemmy is probably the most famous person ever to speak to me. It was after a concert. The man walked by and said; “covered in fucking blood, eh?”

That got me thinking.  A lot of people probably have a good story to tell about a famous person speaking to them and what they said.

Here’s my challenge:  Who’s the most famous person to speak to you? Can you remember what they said, or tell us something interesting about the encounter?  Let’s rule out times when you were part of an audience, those are too easy and generic and shouldn’t count.  Only times when some well-known person was speaking directly to you.

I’ll start, I have at least two.  (Maybe I’ll think of more later.)

Gary Sinise said to me, “Be careful, the stage is slippery!”

Alex Trebek asked me, “Do you think it will show on camera that I’m not wearing shoes?”

Let’s hear yours!

Comments»

1. allthoughtswork - December 30, 2015

Met Dana Carvey’s older brother, Brad, on a trail and took him hiking. Brad is the inspiration for the character of Garth Algar in Wayne’s World. Story below.

https://allthoughtsworkoutdoors2.wordpress.com/2009/12/09/arctic-cold-wind-ice-and-a-small-world-after-all/

Liked by 1 person

ubi dubium - December 30, 2015

Awesome story!

Like

allthoughtswork - December 30, 2015

Yeah, it was a gas. He’s funny as hell. I was laughing so much, it was hard to hike uphill and still breathe.

Liked by 1 person

2. M.M.J. Gregory - December 30, 2015

I’m afraid I don’t have one, but I’m interested to hear those of others!

Like

3. Midori Skies - December 30, 2015

I don’t really have a story of a famous person talking to me, but when Greta Christina was asking for people’s stories to help write her book, “Coming Out Atheist”, I was one of the people who responded. A couple years later, I’m poking through the shelves of my local library, and I see her book on the shelves. Lo and behold, she not only quotes me in her book, but I’m one of the people listed in the acknowledgements section. I never found a library book that quotes me before 😀

Liked by 1 person

ubi dubium - December 31, 2015

That’s great. I haven’t read that book yet, but I’ve had lunch with Greta a couple of times, and she’s terrific.

Liked by 1 person

4. makagutu - December 31, 2015

I have not spoken to any famous person

Like


Thoughts?

