jump to navigation

Kosher Schmosher! April 7, 2015

Posted by Ubi Dubium in Humor, UbiDubiKids.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Tonight I went to call my oldest daughter down from her room to dinner.

“Come eat, we’re having homemade matzoh ball soup and leftover ham.”

From behind her door there was a pause, and then “You can’t DO that!!”

“Of course I can!  Happy Passover!”

MatzohballsTN Connections Winter 2008/p. 9

It’s so much fun to be able to ignore religious rules and play around with traditions!

Of course our family is as WASP in background as they come.  I just like to cook dishes from other cuisines, probably because our only “ethnic tradition” is British food, and apart from scones and tea there isn’t much special there.  You should see my spice cabinet!

Comments»

1. humanistmum - April 8, 2015

Sunday Roast maybe? Yorkshire puddings are pretty special 🙂

Liked by 1 person

ubi dubium - April 8, 2015

I must confess that I like kippers. I have no explanation for why.

When I was able to visit England the best meal I had was at a curry shop. And the worst was at something that claimed to be a pizza restaurant, but I think they were lying. What they served me bore no resemblance to pizza, because I’m pretty sure that pizza’s not supposed to be puffy and soggy.

Like

2. humanistmum - April 8, 2015

I like that you visited came all the way to England and visited an Indian and an Italian, haha. The other British “delicacy” is Fish and Chips deep fried from the chippy but I have to say your food photos look far more appetizing!

Like

3. cag - April 8, 2015

Spiral ham is an abomination to the lard. So are those sausages that are referred to as ham. So is Ken. Bone in, fully cooked, unsliced, baked for a couple of hours and then put on a mustard glaze and bake an additional 30 minutes. Now that’s ham.

Like

4. Ellen Hawley - April 9, 2015

Traditional English food? Mushy peas! No other country makes them, and I’m willing to bet they can’t be translated into any other language on this planet. On the other hand, anything baked (except, apparently, pizza) is likely to be good.

Okay, and meat pies. I’m a veggie, but my partner considers meat pies an abomination. (We’re Americans living in the UK, so we come to this with outsdiers’ eyes.)

Like

ubi dubium - April 9, 2015

Are mushy peas a good thing or a bad thing?

I tried something at a bakery in England: a cream puff. They apparently didn’t get the memo that the filling is supposed to be sweetened. It was full of unsweetened whipped cream. Ew.

Like

5. humanistmum - April 9, 2015

Mushy peas with fish and chips! It is actually pretty darn good. Next time you’re in the UK you will have to get it 🙂

Like

6. vonleonhardt2 - April 9, 2015

You know WASP probably shouldn’t be so tickled pink to stick it to them Jews…

Like

ubi dubium - April 10, 2015

How is what I personally eat in any way “sticking it” to anyone? Am I sticking it to the Mormons when I drink my morning tea, or sticking it to the Catholics when I ate a big plate of beef on Good Friday? I’m under no obligation to abide by anyone else’s dietary restrictions. Or to avoid laughing about them when they’re funny.

I also refer you to “Peace Anthem for Palestine” by Tim Minchin: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3UO6YlkYNJQ

Like


Thoughts?

