jump to navigation

Am I going to eat at Chick-fil-A now? September 20, 2012

Posted by Ubi Dubium in Rants.
Tags: ,
trackback

I don’t usually scrutinize the politics of the owners of big companies, but when their prejudices become corporate policy, then that affects what businesses I will spend my money at.  I’ve been avoiding Chick-fil-A in recent years, no surprise there.

So, rather buried in the Post today was this story: http://www.washingtonpost.com/business/chick-fil-a-gives-another-statement-amid-gay-marriage-controversy-position-still-unclear/2012/09/20/f6838d3a-0368-11e2-9132-f2750cd65f97_story.html

So they are going to stop giving money to anti-marriage equality groups?  Really?  Or has the PR over this just gotten too negative, so they are trying to save their corporate image, without actually chainging policy? I did a little googling, and found some accusations that they were now having fundraiser checks at sponsored events made out to other anti-gay organizations run by the owner of Chick-fil-A, instead of to Chick-fil-A or their foundation directly.  Now, I’m not sure how reliable those accusations are, so I’m not going to assume they are true.  But neither am I going to trot right out and buy a mediocre chicken sandwich with only a lousy pickle on it.  With Chick-fil-A’s actions in the past, it’s going to take more than just one press release to convince me that they have cleaned up their act.   I’m going to wait and see.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Thoughts?

