jump to navigation

My Pass-Phrase March 22, 2012

Posted by Ubi Dubium in Rants.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

This is my standard response to persistent godbot trolls. I just had to use this on another one today, so I will post it here for easy reference in the future

This is a challenge to them to put up or shut up:

 “I have a pass-phrase.

I have never written it down or told anybody what it is.

It’s a sentence in plain english that is really unlikely to come up in normal conversation. I have thought it in my head, really loudly and clearly, many times.

If your god is real, and if your god is all-knowing, then he knows what it is.

If your god talks to you, and if your god is all-powerful then he can tell you what it is.

If you want me to think that you are a messenger from god, and not just a prattling child repeating fairy tales, then you are going to have to get your god to tell you what my pass-phrase is.

Go pray to your god, ask him to tell you the one specific sentence that will let me know that you are not full of BS, and then come back here and tell me what it is. If and only if you get it right, then I will listen to what you have to say. Since your god is supposedly “perfect” you should only need one try at this.

Now go away, and don’t come back until you have it. And if god won’t or can’t answer such a simple prayer for you, maybe you should think really hard about why.”

If there actually were an all-powerful god that communicates with human beings, that would be an important thing to know.  But I think the likelihood of this being true is vanishingly small.  So I’ve chosen a phrase that is unusual enough that the odds of an evangelist stumbling upon it randomly are similarly vanishingly small.  No cheating on this one.  No tricks or fakery will work for this.  They get it, word-for-word, or they fail.

My pass-phrase is very personal to me.  If a member of my immediate family heard what it was, they would say “Yes, of course, that’s totally what you would pick”.  But I will stick with not telling anyone what it is, not until some preacher somehow gets it right.  They are welcome to come here and leave my pass-phrase in a  comment, so I’d know that,  for once, there is a preacher that isn’t spouting nonsense.  I’m not holding my breath, though, they won’t get it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Thoughts?

